Author Topic: Dudwood  (Read 2793 times)

Offline Ian Hingley

• Club Members
Dudwood
« on: October 13, 2018, 08:48:16 am »
I don't understand why the MCC continue to create sections with blind finishes.  I've mentioned this time and time again.  Bikes do not have a reverse gear.  They are very difficult to balance going backwards.  I climbed to the top of Dudwood 2 clean, passed through the ends cards only to met by impenetrable brambles, undergrowth and trees.  'Follow marshal's instructions' it said.  Those instructions were 'go back down'.  You kidding?  My bike is big and heavy, over 50 years old.  I'm in my 60s and cold, wet and tired having been on the road for 14 hours by now.  Manhandling my bike round and slithering back down a steep, slippery, rutted, root-infested hill is just not my idea of fun.  Dangerous.

I've been riding the MCC trials for about 35 years now, so I know the score. This is my first year in Class O, supposedly slightly more gentle.  It's meant to also act as an appetiser for novice riders.  I wonder what the first-time bikers made of Dudwood 2?  I've ridden Dudwood 1 for the 'big boys classes' every year since its inception.  Same 'crash into the brambles, stop and reverse down' approach there.

Any section where the only way out is back through the Sections Begins cards is bound to cause delays.  A minute to climb and a minute to come back down with competitors arriving at minute intervals equals guaranteed delays.

And to have the competitors coming from Dudwood 1 having to pass through the beginning of Dudwood 2 on their way to the Observed Test only made things worse.  Made no sense.  The start marshal was doing a fantastic job of organising and directing the queue, but was obviously finding it exasperating.

Any thoughts?

Regards

Ian

Offline Jason Potts

• Club Members
Re: Dudwood
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2018, 07:32:54 am »